The first time


The first time isn’t easy. You have to lean slightly to one side, shake a little bit, then look down and make sure you’re dry. And when you’ve finished, you must analyze the warm plastic cup and make sure you’ve filled it at least to the line. Next, you place the beaker-like container into a secret compartment where an unseen hand will reach in and extract the happy fluid…when you’re gone. You hope. And next time, you follow the same pattern, and maybe then you remain dry. The problem is…how do you practice peeing in a cup?

I was once a child…back in olden times. Thrown into an adult setting, white-coated people everywhere, I was given a speciman container and given confusing instructions about “catching the stream.” I walked into the restroom, took down my shorts, took one look at the huge-butted comode, another at the speciman “jar” and thought “you’ve got to be kidding. what am I supposed to do- again?” I pulled up my shorts and pants, went outside the door and tried to get a nurse’s attention. “What do I do again?” Do you know how silly it is to look up at Mattilda-the-Hun on steroids and ask “Do I pee into the poddie first or do I pee in the cup first?” I never quite understood her adult response, so I went back into the restroom feeling embarrassed and ready to pee in my shorts if I didn’t start playing fireman fast! Well, I tried to hold the bottle out and hit it a few times, and my hand, but I managed to fill the thing up past the line and almost overflowing. I washed my hands, pulled up my shorts and pants and went out the door to find the nurse. “I’m done.” She went in and pulled the cup from the back of the comode and marched past with a prize-winning jar of yellow stuff. One nurse moved out of the way in surprise- or was it envy?- and then I found my way back to the waiting room. Wow, peeing properly in a cup was a tiring experience…

But today, I have conquered the stream-method, I have mastered the moment-long spray in the cup. It is no longer me who is embarrassed about stream-catching, but rather the new young recruits to the pee-pee lab.

I asked the cute blonde what amount of euphoria convinced her to become a urine analysis expert. She said it was “just a job” and smiled, as if she was trying to think of frisky puppies or cute lop-eared bunnies. She had on one of those not-so-serious looking health care outfits with Eeyore and Pooh dancing across her…but what really stopped me was her vacuously happy smile. I imagined her going home to her husband…

“How was your day, honey?”

“Oh, the same as usual. Until this old guy came in.”

“Old guy?”

“Yeah, he was at least 35.”

“That’s old.”

“I know…”

But I don’t believe she likely told him about our ensuing conversation after I returned from the restroom…

“I was wondering…has anyone ever asked you how to practice for the urine speciman test?”

I say this because she looked at me like I was from Outer Mongolia or the Bolivian Coast. It struck her, like a Time Rift.

“Like…I hadn’t thought of that!”

“Well, maybe you should…because, not everyone is as practiced as I am!”

About thelostkerryman

Thelostkerryman is an author, entrepreneur, and disciple- this side of Tir Na N'Og- living in the forests of a consistently confused country. Here in this hill country, hurling doesn't usually involve a hurley, store-made soda bread resembles an inedible Irish megalith, and Kerrygold is only found hidden like a luck penny in the belly of Kroger. This blog is an account of his adventures, thoughts, eclectic -and eccentric- ramblings, random or insightful poetry, humor and non-humor, pictures (photos), video, essays, fiction, poetic fiction, nonfiction, drama, and writing he has not classified in the description above. All of my posts, thelostkerryman.wordpress.com, everydayasadisciple.wordpress.com, and mrandmrsboring.wordpress.com are copywrited according to international copywrite law.
This entry was posted in Culture, Health, humor, Life, Relationships, Women and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The first time

  1. idiotprufs says:

    I’ve always hated peeing in a cup. For some reason, I get nervous and nothing happens, and have to come out of the bathroom with an empty cup and an ashamed look on face, as if I had somehow done something wrong.

  2. Haha, great post 🙂 That’s quite the concept, maybe you should write a book on the art of peeing in a cup! You could make millions!

  3. free penny press says:

    I always say silently “Please don’t let my pee gross the lab tech out”.. why I should care, who knows 🙂

  4. It is kind of deep really, this whole issue. The less you can control something, the more it really shows about you- my mind makes this the case. So, yes, pee- well, it shows what it shows- because you can’t really control it’s contents…whereas your speech, you can. This is cool in that regard 🙂

  5. Pingback: Hilariously Funny: 2013 | thelostkerryman

  6. gimpet says:

    At least you can see the stream…..try bending over and looking at a little triangle of space in the toilet with your legs at right angles then frantically moving the cup around until you aren’t peeing on your hand…..yes, this is the truth for women….

Leave a Reply

