I have a dream


Suddenly, one day you wake up and find that the path you’ve taken hasn’t turned out quite like you anticipated, and you wonder, just wonder, if it is possible…just a teeny-weeny bit…if that dream you hid in the deeper parts of your heart all these years…is ever going to “come knocking on your door.” (Then again, if Gandalf knocks on your door, you have been indulging too much in Middle Earth and need to look in the mirror to make sure you have not gone through a Shire-inspired metamorphosis. Please check your feet, they’ll be harry if you have)

And while looking in the mirror is good for actors practicing lines without a partner, it can be a shocking revelation to those who go about their lives a little too fast in the daily diddle-daddle of life. Fortunately, I am not one of them. I knew in my heart, since that day it came to me (not like Joseph Smith, thank God), that this precious little vision would take a divine appointment or two, or perhaps a whole boatload. This dream is not in the “I’ve won the lottery” category, but something that would cause a line of questions from the ubiquitous naysayers who might openly declare- “We must confisticate that idea from your brain.” However, more likely, “they” would look at me with a dumbfounded stupor…

But, truth be known, I have never put much stock in naysayers. Oh, I admit to having an Eeyore moment now and again, but most normal people have had a few of those, especially on days when the car won’t run, everything glass breaks in the kitchen, or the postman brings mail resembling “the black spot.” As you probably realize, I didn’t get where I am today by listening to people behind office desks telling me what to do. I just went out and did it. And I believe that must be what will lead me forward toward this dream of mine…though it might also take a significant amount of finances, planning, and time off from work…preferably while I am still employed.

So, I have searched the internet, read a few good maps, mused over old writings, and taken time to sort it all out in my head. I may not be a college student anymore, but I know when you set a goal, you have to start with small steps. Not baby steps, mind you. No, no. baby steps often have poop all over them, and that just wouldn’t do. I need hiking boot steps, ones with serious benchmarks, both mental and physical. Ones that say to the world, “Look, Mister Pooh, that’s just stuff and nonsense. I am going to have a good time whether you like it or not.” And that’s that. So, do as I am doing- take a few thoughtful, coordinated steps in the right direction. As Bilbo Baggins might say, “When you step out the door, you never know just where your feet will take you.”

About thelostkerryman

Thelostkerryman is an author, entrepreneur, and disciple- this side of Tir Na N'Og- living in the forests of a consistently confused country. Here in this hill country, hurling doesn't usually involve a hurley, store-made soda bread resembles an inedible Irish megalith, and Kerrygold is only found hidden like a luck penny in the belly of Kroger. This blog is an account of his adventures, thoughts, eclectic -and eccentric- ramblings, random or insightful poetry, humor and non-humor, pictures (photos), video, essays, fiction, poetic fiction, nonfiction, drama, and writing he has not classified in the description above. All of my posts, thelostkerryman.wordpress.com, everydayasadisciple.wordpress.com, and mrandmrsboring.wordpress.com are copywrited according to international copywrite law.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Dreams/Goals, Health, Hiking, Hobbits, humor, Life, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I have a dream

  1. Maia says:

    I love this post, as I can totally relate. I definitely think it’s time to put on those hiking boots.

    Do you mind if I re-blog this?

  2. Haven’t visited in awhile. I wish the path I have traveled was the way I would have wanted, but sometimes something better is chosen for us and we don’t know it. Still I do keep trying to get where I want.

Leave a Reply

