Care for a cuppa tea?


It has rained the whole world round tonight- Merkel and her posse stuck in a city with black banners taunting her, more than twelve states in the once united states threatening secession movements, and a report out of London that the once-great financial capital is slipping into obscurity, as the East rises ever greater on the horizon. One might even take to watching an old B-grade movie from the days of Black and White talkies, just to cheer up in these dark days and nights. Or, one might dig deep into the cupboards of our cells and bring forth the tea and hot chocolate…

…with a bag of Biscotti. I’m purely addicted at this point, marching off to the bag every time I feel a physical commercial coming on…oh look, I need to take a break…

And there I go…

But no tea. No, it is missing from my shelves, and has been, for over a week. And it shall remain missing, as I have tired of the strange concoction…

It, like coffee, is an acquired taste. Let’s be honest, who really enjoys hot water with a bitter flavor? No matter how many spoonfuls of sugar, syrup, even chocolate, it still has a bitter edge. If you enjoy the bitter taste, do you enjoy bitterness in your life? After all, you are what you drink…

…can you honestly say tea is a tasty thing? Let’s be honest…

What do you say?

About thelostkerryman

Thelostkerryman is an author, and entrepreneur- this side of Tir Na N'Og- living in the forests of a consistently confused country. Here in this hill country, hurling doesn't usually involve a hurley, store-made soda bread resembles an inedible Irish megalith, and Kerrygold is only found hidden like a luck penny in the belly of Kroger. His blogs are an account of his adventures, thoughts, eclectic -and eccentric- ramblings, random or insightful poetry, humor and non-humor, pictures (photos), video, essays, fiction, poetic fiction, nonfiction, drama, and writing he has not classified in the description above. All of his posts from thelostkerryman.wordpress.com, talesinastrangerstrangerland@wordpress.com, everydayasadisciple@wordpress.com, and mrandmrsboring.wordpress.com are copywrited according to international copywrite law.
This entry was posted in Culture, Food, Health, Life, Weather and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Care for a cuppa tea?

  1. Java Girl says:

    I love raspberry tea! I’ve been making French Hot Chocolate for some time now. The taste is exquisite and warms my heart like no other hot chocolate can. I especially love topping it off with whipped cream. Have you ever had one? I’d suggest trying it. It makes a very cold night so much warmer and cozier. Stay warm!

  2. Would you believe there really are people who actually love tea and coffee? I am one of those people. Does it count, though, if I add milk or cream to both? Plus, I just have to add some sugar – not too much, however. I may be able to redeem myself by stating that I only have one each per day. Absolutely only one each – so I can sleep and wake up and have a wonderful cup of coffee with my husband. ( Now you know who got me onto the good stuff!) I started the tea habit all on my own.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

  3. The only tea I find interesting at all is sassafrass or peppermint- both from their own natural sources. Oh, and some of the London fruit and Herb Tea Company flavors (with honey). But, I have never had a cup of coffee that tasted like anything but dirt-filled, bitter hot water.

  4. lily says:

    I like tea, green tea. I add fresh herbs and lemon. I like to sip it when it is warm (not hot)–it seems a cozy thing to do, holding the warm tea cup–and to smell the lemon and the scent of the herbs. I think I am aromatherapying myself. No bitterness, here : ) Cheers, ~ Lily

  5. lily says:

    I thought of you today! I had a cup of a new tea that I purchased over the weekend, and it was (drum roll…) sooo bitter I nearly spit it out, worst tea I’ve ever had. Your description “dirt-filled, bitter hot water” is quite apt. I now know Exactly what you are talking about. Thank goodness I hadn’t served it to anyone. So, back to my usual teas, and you must find the good ones too, no sense drinking the dirt and bitterness. Thank goodness there are so many teas out there for our tastes. And then of course there is always chicken soup. Or turkey soup. Have a happy Thanksgiving! ~ Lily

Leave a Reply

