the road to the top of nowhere?


i have a headache the size of a mountain this evening…and it does not come from scaling heights to glimpse a fantastic view, like this one above Lost River, deep in Nowhere, West Virginia. No, it is a problematic headache, the kind that Jacob had before he wrestled with the angel, or the kind that Moses had as he looked up at the peak  they called “the mountain of God.” I admit, sometimes in this walk of faith, I feel like a Sontaran in a candy shop- not quite knowing how to respond tactically to something that currently makes no logical sense. Still, I cling to what has always worked- to wait expectantly for the Lord…as He is the God of my salvation. (Micah 7:7)

This picture- from the past- reminds me of the time I climbed this mountain- not alone then. It reminds me that people, in their selfishness, can choose the wrong road, the wrong mountain height, only to find themselves so waylaid and so far from home. I do not want to go there…so I will continue to trust in the Lord, even when my thoughts are so much smaller than those of the Lord.

Image

About thelostkerryman

Thelostkerryman is an author, and entrepreneur- this side of Tir Na N'Og- living in the forests of a consistently confused country. Here in this hill country, hurling doesn't usually involve a hurley, store-made soda bread resembles an inedible Irish megalith, and Kerrygold is only found hidden like a luck penny in the belly of Kroger. His blogs are an account of his adventures, thoughts, eclectic -and eccentric- ramblings, random or insightful poetry, humor and non-humor, pictures (photos), video, essays, fiction, poetic fiction, nonfiction, drama, and writing he has not classified in the description above. All of his posts from thelostkerryman.wordpress.com, talesinastrangerstrangerland@wordpress.com, everydayasadisciple@wordpress.com, and mrandmrsboring.wordpress.com are copywrited according to international copywrite law.
This entry was posted in Adventure, catholicism, Christianity, Doctor Who, Dreams/Goals, Hiking, Life, Pentecostalism, Photography, Relationships, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the road to the top of nowhere?

  1. queenlorene says:

    When I was at the Grand Canyon recently, I stood 6 inches from a mile drop and just DRUNK in the wind and the wild ecstacy of standing on what seemed the edge of the world. This picture, with a nothingness below this little broken hut, reminds me of that wild feeling!

  2. ioniamartin says:

    This is so true. I think we all feel this way sometimes. I could get lost in that photo. I hope your head is better soon:)

Leave a Reply

