Viva La France!


Today I met two frenchman and a french woman at a convenience store. They were outside,  huddled over a map of West-By-God-Virginia, while I stared up at the rocky crown of Snowshoe’s neighboring mountain. (Snowshoe is a famous ski resort) The gentlemen were staring so fiercely at the map, machine-gun-rattling french, that I assumed they must be confused or lost. I was wrong.

But I did not want them to feel lost. Maybe you have been a stranger in a strange land- I have, and it is sometimes frustrating. I had been inside the store and watched the clerk try to speak with them en francais, but no avail. I felt like helping, but realized my french has nearly disappeared from memory. I am a bit sad, because french is such a fun language to speak.

I returned home to find a blog visit from France. It must be French in West Virginia Day. I am celebrating with the only pseudo-french item in my house- a generous helping of Leseur petit peas, sauteed in rich kerrygold butter. Magnifique!

So- to all you francophiles, I wish you bonne soir (and hopefully I didn’t get it mixed up with Portugese, Hititite, or Romulan- so it does read “Good evening.”)

About thelostkerryman

Thelostkerryman is an author, entrepreneur, and disciple- this side of Tir Na N'Og- living in the forests of a consistently confused country. Here in this hill country, hurling doesn't usually involve a hurley, store-made soda bread resembles an inedible Irish megalith, and Kerrygold is only found hidden like a luck penny in the belly of Kroger. This blog is an account of his adventures, thoughts, eclectic -and eccentric- ramblings, random or insightful poetry, humor and non-humor, pictures (photos), video, essays, fiction, poetic fiction, nonfiction, drama, and writing he has not classified in the description above. All of my posts, thelostkerryman.wordpress.com, everydayasadisciple.wordpress.com, and mrandmrsboring.wordpress.com are copywrited according to international copywrite law.
This entry was posted in Characters, Culture, Food, humor, Language, Life, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Viva La France!

  1. sirfelion says:

    Charming post. French is a fun language, but I never did do it justice in conversation in French classes. Now a long time ago. Au revoir! Until we meet again.

  2. Java Girl says:

    Indeed, French is fun to speak. Portuguese has many, many French sounds to its language such as “bom” (good). I love the old 1920-1930’s vintage French music. Bliss… 😉

  3. phildange says:

    Psstt… “Viva” is Spanish and doesn’t exist in French . Vive la France is the right way .

Leave a Reply

