i come to the garden alone


i have a vision of life, into mid summer, stooping to hoe around a row of cucumbers or leeks…the sandy-brown soil warm and tender on my feet, planted in a garden in the backyard of a little home. Perhaps it is ideal, but anything ideal is worth fighting for, and I can picture my evenings, long after a day’s work and the dinner plates have been put away…

…and I come back to this picture because it is the future I long for, not the past. Too many of us live in the past. What pain enveloped you or me is past; if God sees us through the eyes of the present, why do we look backward? Many of us are our own worst enemies- this should not be so. Stop beating yourself up for all your failures, and repent at the cross. There you take up that cross but are freed from the weight of it.

Tomorrow is too soon to live in sadness or regret late into the night. So, you’re alone. So, you don’t feel loved. Pour out your heart to God. Why do you hold back? God is the only one that can move the world, to change the world for you.

So, whether I am alone or not, life is more than just moments to regret, sorrows to drink, and pain that never seems to fade. No, for you, if you are suffering, it is too precious still- too precious still- for you to think of giving up.

I have been praying for one of you- thinking of you. You are pregnant, not married- and you think everything but your baby girl is a mess. I don’t know who the father is, but you are depressed, so I am assuming he wants no part of the baby’s or your future.

You have no idea I am praying for you, you think you treated me too badly for me to be concerned, but you are wrong. Yes, it has been several years since I was your teacher, but God brought you back to my remembrance because I am also a warrior, a praying man, one who holds onto the hope that never dies. And my prayer is that you find that too…even one of your friends told you that God has a purpose for you.

Life is a faith journey. Embrace the vision of what God desires for your heart. He created you and loves you…and all good things are from Him. He wants to take you from your situation and place you in the place He wants you, where you will be happy and live a full life.

“I am come that your might have Life, and that (life) more abundantly.” -Jesus Christ

About thelostkerryman

Thelostkerryman is an author, entrepreneur, and disciple- this side of Tir Na N'Og- living in the forests of a consistently confused country. Here in this hill country, hurling doesn't usually involve a hurley, store-made soda bread resembles an inedible Irish megalith, and Kerrygold is only found hidden like a luck penny in the belly of Kroger. This blog is an account of his adventures, thoughts, eclectic -and eccentric- ramblings, random or insightful poetry, humor and non-humor, pictures (photos), video, essays, fiction, poetic fiction, nonfiction, drama, and writing he has not classified in the description above. All of my posts, thelostkerryman.wordpress.com, everydayasadisciple.wordpress.com, and mrandmrsboring.wordpress.com are copywrited according to international copywrite law.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Dreams/Goals, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

