the unthinkable? think again


it is taboo, not discussed in public. fear of humiliation. men aren’t supposed to be weaker physically. but anyone at anytime can become an abuser, and the facts are clear- more and more men are suffering from physical and mental abuse by their wives.

I am not talking about anything normal here. It is not normal for a husband to wake up at night with his wife standing over him with a knife…not with a wife beating him senseless while he was trying to sleep…or being bitten, kicked in the scrotum, or choked. but it happens. And if you don’t believe me, I know.

Years ago I began a counseling ministry. I have shared this with very few people, but I believe now is the time to share. In so many instances, I met with men who were being abused in a marriage, often mentally and physically. Then, later in life, I met a female abuser. Until then, I had never given much thought to how painful pulling hair might be…or deep, blood-piercing biting…but I saw it. What really sickened me was the rampaging agenda some women’s groups used to portray all men as evil abusers. I learned that there are centers for battered women where women go  who have been the abuser and claim to have been abused. I learned that many of these abusing wives suffered from mental problems, having been abused sometime in their youth. I learned that there are women who refuse to forgive anyone anything, thereby becoming abusers themselves. And, I learned that society was not on the side of the abused husband. No, society ignored it, scoffed at the idea.

That was then. It sickens me that while some admit there is a problem, it is still not taken seriously enough. Why do I say that? Because of what I see, hear, and read. It is high time that we look at the problem, and see that spousal abuse is just that. None of it is acceptable, in any sense, at any time, by either husband or wife.

If you find the abuse of either wife or husband reprehensible, I invite you to share this. Be bold. Take a stand.

This might not make me the most popular guy in the world with females, but then again, I would rather speak the truth boldly, and let the Lord bless me. Anyway, I only want a woman who hates abuse, not one who condones it.

http://www.helpguide.org/domestic-violence-men-abused-by-women.htm

 

About thelostkerryman

Thelostkerryman is an author, and entrepreneur- this side of Tir Na N'Og- living in the forests of a consistently confused country. Here in this hill country, hurling doesn't usually involve a hurley, store-made soda bread resembles an inedible Irish megalith, and Kerrygold is only found hidden like a luck penny in the belly of Kroger. His blogs are an account of his adventures, thoughts, eclectic -and eccentric- ramblings, random or insightful poetry, humor and non-humor, pictures (photos), video, essays, fiction, poetic fiction, nonfiction, drama, and writing he has not classified in the description above. All of his posts from thelostkerryman.wordpress.com, talesinastrangerstrangerland@wordpress.com, everydayasadisciple@wordpress.com, and mrandmrsboring.wordpress.com are copywrited according to international copywrite law.
This entry was posted in Life, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to the unthinkable? think again

  1. Thank you, I am going to share…

  2. secretangel says:

    Yes.. whereas abuse is hidden by women, it is even hidden more by men because of the social taboo. I speak from my own personal experiences but try to include men as victims as well as the abusers as previous victims for they learned their abusive behaviors from their abusers… I previous wrote this: http://secretangelps911.wordpress.com/2013/07/30/poem-forgotten-victims-dedicated-to-all-victims-women-and-men/… Yes, abuse is a huge problem for men and women and we all need to speak out to try to stop it. I commend you for speaking out. Blessings to you!

  3. gimpet says:

    One of my favorite bloggers is from an abusive relationship and he had to get out after 23 years to save his sanity and his 6 children. His poem is so tragically sad and powerful and I honor him–and you–for bringing it to people’s attention.

Leave a Reply

