a tangled reach toward the sun


Image

tangled reach toward the sun…limbs spreading toward day, while it still remains…and i walk along a narrowing path down to water’s edge…there is yet a beauty in the grey-white. something i cannot convince myself- when studying the weathered faces of those i knew years ago, now with white-thatching covering their aging crowns…

…that will not be me, i counsel within, knowing my thick wavy locks speak of years before my time so that i age like finer wine and those who ponder my wrinkles mistake them for the pain i have endured, rather than more years than they…

as do these white-grey figures with their thin bodies- dramatic movement in the sun-stage…they would dance if possible, these trees…dance to stretch further afield, farther from the lip-edge of the blue water bay. but it is only i, the one with baring back as i cut through the white-tufted grass stalks, forging further afield…

Image

beyond that field, and back again, a testimony to endurance that produces youth…or the ruddy look of it.

Image

About thelostkerryman

Thelostkerryman is an author, entrepreneur, and disciple- this side of Tir Na N'Og- living in the forests of a consistently confused country. Here in this hill country, hurling doesn't usually involve a hurley, store-made soda bread resembles an inedible Irish megalith, and Kerrygold is only found hidden like a luck penny in the belly of Kroger. This blog is an account of his adventures, thoughts, eclectic -and eccentric- ramblings, random or insightful poetry, humor and non-humor, pictures (photos), video, essays, fiction, poetic fiction, nonfiction, drama, and writing he has not classified in the description above. All of my posts, thelostkerryman.wordpress.com, everydayasadisciple.wordpress.com, and mrandmrsboring.wordpress.com are copywrited according to international copywrite law.
This entry was posted in Life, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to a tangled reach toward the sun

  1. reocochran says:

    Such a lovely way to express how you feel you have aged, of course the ending is especially nice! I think that the clearing with the blue skies ahead is a great way to keep your youth intact. It was worth having to forge through the tangled weeds to get there.

  2. gimpet says:

    Beautiful imagery. I always feel like I am reading a great novel when you Get In This Mood.

    • How sweet of you…actually, I have a novel in progress that is akin to this style

      • gimpet says:

        Are you going to finish by the end of November? You posted a couple of pieces in the past that seemed like they were exerpts–were they? One was about a man getting ready for work and going on the train. You have such a distinctive style that it is easy to remember your posts! Sortof classic Hemmingway. LOL–I just read a post from a friend who put his stuff out on a site that rates your chapter and tells you what style of writing you have as compared to a famous artist. I wonder who you would really compare to?

      • Definitely not Hemingway- Old Man and the Sea was the worst book I have ever read, so boring I fell asleep sitting up. No, my favorite style- of poetic fiction- came to me after a long three year period of writing nothing but poetry because “the pain of divorce was too great.” Strangely enough, I also found that my two favorite authors- apart from God- have also influenced me a bit. I will say one of them was Dylan Thomas…

      • gimpet says:

        LOL-is the other a secret? Yes, I LOVE poetic fiction, perhaps that is why I like to read your stuff! As a “lay poet” I love word imagery. I like the pace you set, makes me calm down and I feel like I am strolling along with you. Do you ever feel that way with blogs? Some make one feel the need to race through, some make one slow down and smell the roses. Three years of poems, wow. I started just after a surgery in August last year, loosely why I started blogging in the first place. Strong events trigger the best and worst in us. Not sure which category my poems are in–LOL! But they are important to me, and that is all that counts. Have you posted any of the poems from that period?

      • No, no poems from that period…they are in a grave place….

        The other author is the 19th century author George MacDonald. Gutenberg.org has “Lilith” and “The Portent.” Great stuff…the latter is a great “snuggled up in a comfy chair with a hot chocolate and cookies, cuddled up by a fireplace” kind of book.

      • gimpet says:

        I will check it out, comfort, cookies, hot chocolate and fireplaces being my favorites all bundled into one. Thank you for the suggestion!

      • …always like to help my most devoted readers “find Utopia” in an armchair…but especially my favorite gravatar fairy.

      • gimpet says:

        🙂 I will let you know what I think–I already started it, the word Romance and Celtic a perfect pair for me! Now if it only has faeries in it, for I see a reference to Second Sight….

  3. Oh, by the way, I have never posted an excerpt from my book…maybe, just maybe, I should?

Leave a Reply

