love is like a chocolate cake


if i could sum up a few of the more poignant relationship blog posts I have discovered over the course of the past week on the world wide wonder, it might resemble this unabashedly uncharacteristic undulating stream of words i call…

“a little love poem in retrospect, based upon a reflection of my hormonal state”

love is like a chocolate cake…

or a Hershey’s kiss with a mini graham cracker…

with too much powdered sugar

and waaaayyyyy too much sprinkly bits on top.

love is like a mega-sized lemonade from Chic-Fil-A

waaaaaayyyy too overly sweet and a little bit too sour…

making me think my stomach is in the rinse cycle

still back among the sex-starved hot mammas at the laundrymat.

But you could also say love is akin to a long twisted low mein noodle

you sooooooooo want to wrap your taste buds around…

and pray the good part stays with you waaaaayyyy longer than….

the last date you had with the twinkly eyed girl- who had the breath of a chipmunk.

yes, i’ve found my shelf life expired-my rose bouquet dying- my puppy dog smile disappearing

while nibbling on bits of pickled herring, cheese logs, and a beef stick from Hickory Farms;

my life is such a mess i’m ready to back up into the swamp and dream about alligator stomachs-

until i go out with that crazy chick that keeps stalking me online with sudden snapchats

and i find that German chocolate cake isn’t the only chocolate cake in the whole wide world,

just as Angela Merkel isn’t representative of every middle aged mamma wanting attention….

soooooooo…..i guess…..i’ll go….so what do you think i should do about my entire life-

from now until i ride off into the sunset?

or something like that….

and maybe, just maybe, it won’t be soooooo long before i find my princess charming…the one i saw in the bubble bath ad…definitely…

the aforementioned is NOT ABOUT MY LIFE STATE. please READ the beginning before commenting. oh, and read the whole thing. i read the  whole post when i read yours…please be kind and do the same. then, you will see that this is dripping with satire…i was making a point…

About thelostkerryman

Thelostkerryman is an author, and entrepreneur- this side of Tir Na N'Og- living in the forests of a consistently confused country. Here in this hill country, hurling doesn't usually involve a hurley, store-made soda bread resembles an inedible Irish megalith, and Kerrygold is only found hidden like a luck penny in the belly of Kroger. His blogs are an account of his adventures, thoughts, eclectic -and eccentric- ramblings, random or insightful poetry, humor and non-humor, pictures (photos), video, essays, fiction, poetic fiction, nonfiction, drama, and writing he has not classified in the description above. All of his posts from thelostkerryman.wordpress.com, talesinastrangerstrangerland@wordpress.com, everydayasadisciple@wordpress.com, and mrandmrsboring.wordpress.com are copywrited according to international copywrite law.
This entry was posted in humor, Life, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to love is like a chocolate cake

  1. ksbeth says:

    try a new cupcake, perhaps a chili pecan cocoa lemon coconut chip one?

  2. sexandthecincy says:

    I hope you find the right taste of love. A lot of what you’re describing sounds like love in the honeymoon state.

  3. reocochran says:

    I have some fun thoughts on this but am kind of a serious person so I will say I hope you will someday find, like you would hope for me, (I think,) a good person to hang out with and share some time with. I am looking for a head on the other pillow, at least occasionally… The food references made me think of how diverse my palate is, how the person has to be very different. I like sweet, sour, tangy, and chewy things. I love coffee with flavoring, whipped cream on top.

  4. gimpet says:

    These people seem really hungry to me….LOL

  5. I liked this. I think love does have its overly sweet and sometimes sour parts. Chick-fil-a lemonade – just right.

  6. reocochran says:

    I have no advice just wishing you to find someone to share a taste or dance or ?? Enjoy and have a wonderful day! I am in the “same boat” as you!

  7. Pingback: Hilariously Funny: 2013 | thelostkerryman

Leave a Reply

