Fear and loathing in the USA


If I had a nickel for every time someone misunderstood me, I’d be wealthier than Bill Gates. The latest poll about Americans and their trust- or lack of it- is shining through big time in several places.

Still, I still find Americans who will stop and take the time to talk, people who will help their neighbors, people who will stop for a stranded motorist…still, mainly because they have not succumbed to that fear, loathing, and mistrust spreading throughout the land. 

I wrote my last post as a satire. If you misunderstood it, I suggest that you find out what satire is- if you do not know. It is a potent way of saying “There is something wrong here with this.” 

About thelostkerryman

Thelostkerryman is an author, entrepreneur, and disciple- this side of Tir Na N'Og- living in the forests of a consistently confused country. Here in this hill country, hurling doesn't usually involve a hurley, store-made soda bread resembles an inedible Irish megalith, and Kerrygold is only found hidden like a luck penny in the belly of Kroger. This blog is an account of his adventures, thoughts, eclectic -and eccentric- ramblings, random or insightful poetry, humor and non-humor, pictures (photos), video, essays, fiction, poetic fiction, nonfiction, drama, and writing he has not classified in the description above. All of my posts, thelostkerryman.wordpress.com, everydayasadisciple.wordpress.com, and mrandmrsboring.wordpress.com are copywrited according to international copywrite law.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fear and loathing in the USA

  1. smilecalm says:

    deep down
    all desire connection, yes.
    feeling safe, on the inside
    one mindful breath at a time.
    extending out to others.
    feeling safe, letting go of fear.
    communicating with clarity
    a wonderful aspiration.

  2. reocochran says:

    I am good at annoying my brother when I “fall” for his comments that are meant to be sarcastic! I also don’t read his words correctly and think he is telling the “truth” but is really pulling my leg! I do think the world, one person at a time, is not so bad. There are a lot of good people out there, I agree with you, who will help someone who is stranded, hurt or needs directions. I am not fearful, since I think by trusting, sometimes you can instill this calm feeling and build trust. I hope most would agree with this philosophy!

Leave a Reply

