Super Bowl of Chili


millions of people are watching a sporting event in New Jersey while I am cooking…but both of us are hoping for a fine super bowl. The seahawks hope they can fly past the bucking broncos, but i hope to eat a great bowl of chili.

at half time of my game:

Image

so far, my statistics are:

1 Can of Hormel Chili Mix- With Beans (including chilies)

1 Can of No Salt (low salt) diced Tomatoes

2 stalks of celery- sliced into small chucks

ground black pepper to taste

1 tablespoon sage

1 tablespoon garlic powder

i started cooking at about medium heat. then, while it started to bubble a bit, i added a chopped up small sweet onion, 2 tablespoons Kerrygold Butter, a dash of italian seasoning (oregano and basil mainly), and one handful of curly parsley…

Image

and while the seahawks are now ahead of the broncos 15-0, i am waiting for my chili to cool enough to eat. one thing i can do- check on my next project…

Image

...a “brew” of 1/2 of a lemon sliced, a couple of cups of sliced ginger, and two tablespoons of raw honey, mixed in water. i’ll let it sit in the refrigerator for awhile and make a strong wintertime tonic full of vitamin C and good for fending off winter-time illnesses like sore throat, cough, etc. 

my chili is just right now; time to eat! enjoy your evening/night/day…whatever it is where you are…

Slan go foill…

About thelostkerryman

Thelostkerryman is an author, entrepreneur, and disciple- this side of Tir Na N'Og- living in the forests of a consistently confused country. Here in this hill country, hurling doesn't usually involve a hurley, store-made soda bread resembles an inedible Irish megalith, and Kerrygold is only found hidden like a luck penny in the belly of Kroger. This blog is an account of his adventures, thoughts, eclectic -and eccentric- ramblings, random or insightful poetry, humor and non-humor, pictures (photos), video, essays, fiction, poetic fiction, nonfiction, drama, and writing he has not classified in the description above. All of my posts, thelostkerryman.wordpress.com, everydayasadisciple.wordpress.com, and mrandmrsboring.wordpress.com are copywrited according to international copywrite law.
This entry was posted in Food, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Super Bowl of Chili

  1. gimpet says:

    What a take on superbowl….although you lost me at “celery”. Bleck. But a man who cooks is a rare jewel worth his weight in…celery 🙂

  2. A jigger of good rum is what you need in that lemonade, my friend.

  3. Omg the chili looks so good, I made burritos today. And I make this kind of lemonade too, best drink for anytime. But when I add the ginger I also add cinnamon and heat it up, so its more like green tea does wonders for a sore throat, which I had all weekend 😦

  4. simplykathyh says:

    Hmm now I am wanting a good pot of Texas Chili myself, wonder if I have all the ingredients for it? Will have to check on that. And as for the Suiperbowl, finally the Seahawks won. Way to go! I was born in Seattle, and it was nice to finally see that team win. Go hawks!

  5. reocochran says:

    Looked very healthy and I would have enjoyed some of your chili! The vitamin C concoction sounds sweet and good for fighting colds. I would also sip it warm, believe it or not! Smiles, Robin

Leave a Reply

