About The Lostkerryman


sure now, you know I am into writing a new series. but the question some of you are still asking is “who is this guy, and why is he lost?” to answer that, i must tell you about a walk up a steep and wonderful mountain.

there were three of us, two cousins with me, and we had decided to make a day of it, climbing one of Ireland’s lovely mountains…

and after climbing all morning we found a nice spot to munch on sandwiches, cowboy pies, and the like, drink some fine water, and chat up a bit…there in the comfort of a low cave-like rock formation. and in the process of eating…and talking…one of the three of us began telling Kerryman jokes, being that he was a Corkman, from the next county over.

Now, in Ireland, between three cousins, jokes about the places you love isn’t cruel as long as one knows that between you the blood tie is thicker than sod. So, when my Corkman cousin began weaving a Kerryman joke about a Kerryman lost on the bog, I wasn’t offended, and soon found myself laughing too…as the cold wind and dense fog started rolling over to our patch of furze and gorse…

and not long after…lost in the fog…like a Kerryman lost on the bog within ten feet of his home…

Now, my Cork cousin calmly looked up at us and shrugged his shoulders. If anything, it was up to the Kerry lad and I to find a way home to the car. So take that, you Corkman!

A few days later I was myself out on the bog with my favorite cousin- well, one of them, as they are all my favorites- and we were out hillwalking when the weather turned soggy. But, keeping our wits about us, in only a short time we found ourselves back in front of the old peat fire…

i remember those days like yesterday, and I can’t help but remember my Cork cousin laughing on and on about the lost Kerryman on the bog…until the fog got so thick he couldn’t laugh anymore.

So, although I love Kerry, and would gladly go and live there today if I could take all I love with me, I am calling myself “the lost kerryman.” It’s all about the humor, and not about being lost. I’d gladly get lost on the bog mountain for a chance to experience it all over again…but unfortunately, I am bogged down in America now.

I started the post thinking of humor, and even if it becomes even more serious, it is good to go back and remember that day on the mountain and remember that no Kerryman is an island, no matter how far he is from his door…lost on the bog in the fog.

About thelostkerryman

Thelostkerryman is an author, entrepreneur, and disciple- this side of Tir Na N'Og- living in the forests of a consistently confused country. Here in this hill country, hurling doesn't usually involve a hurley, store-made soda bread resembles an inedible Irish megalith, and Kerrygold is only found hidden like a luck penny in the belly of Kroger. This blog is an account of his adventures, thoughts, eclectic -and eccentric- ramblings, random or insightful poetry, humor and non-humor, pictures (photos), video, essays, fiction, poetic fiction, nonfiction, drama, and writing he has not classified in the description above. All of my posts, thelostkerryman.wordpress.com, everydayasadisciple.wordpress.com, and mrandmrsboring.wordpress.com are copywrited according to international copywrite law.
This entry was posted in blogs, Ireland, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to About The Lostkerryman

  1. gimpet says:

    It’s always great to know the origins of the name of a blog. Thanks for letting us in on the joke. You are fortunate to have such a story to look back on throughout your life.

  2. katebortell says:

    I love this.

  3. Reblogged this on thelostkerryman and commented:

    from two years ago…or so.. for those of you who are new to my blog…

Leave a Reply

